My calling, and yours.

As a Christian, I believe that God has a plan for everybody’s life. God’s plan for my life has been obvious to me my whole life, even when I ignored it. In the 3rd grade, my teacher told my parents that I was going to be a missionary. I thought the idea was absurd, because in my 9 year old head, I was going to be an actress (which is a blessing to ALL that that did NOT happen). As I grew older, I began to meet people who weren’t Christians. This was such a strange concept to me because I grew up in the church, as well as attending a christian elementary school. Around my freshman and sophomore year, I began to question God’s existence. I was going through a rough patch in my life, and couldn’t experience the love and peace that I thought Jesus would give me. This entire time I was having this battle with myself, I would go to church with my parents, and go to church because that’s what would make them happy.

In January of my sophomore year, my youth pastor announced that we would be going to El Salvador with an organization called King’s Castle. I thought to myself, “Cool! I can go out of the country with some of my friends and without my parents!” I thought of it as a vacation. And while I was excited for this “vacation” with my church, God provided the funds for me to go because He had a plan for me. Down in El Salvador, I experienced God in ways that I didn’t even know were possible. I saw miracles, and saw Him working in my life. By the end of the trip, I had a powerful experience where I felt God telling me I would be a missionary. I returned home and changed my life and changed how I was living for Christ. I went to Nicaragua with the same organization in 2016, which is where I felt being called back to El Salvador. That being said, I am returning to El Salvador and Nicaragua in June-July on a 6 week trip with Castillo del Rey. I am so blessed that God has made His plan for my life so evident.

But as I said earlier, I believe God has an AMAZING plan for all of us. We all are all called to do one thing: to further God’s kingdom. You don’t need to be perfect, you don’t need to be a missionary overseas or a pastor. In fact, we are ALL missionaries. Missionaries don’t have to go across the world to share the gospel. In fact, missions is in our own backyard.

In my Ohioan city, Dayton, we have the biggest heroin problem in the United States. In my own suburb, we have poverty, absent parents, drug addictions, and the list goes on… God is calling US. Not just you, not just me, but ALL OF US to further His kingdom. It starts in our homes, our schools, jobs, and communities. It starts with us stepping out of our comfort zone. After all, God doesn’t tell us to do whatever we are comfortable with. He tells us in Mark 16: 15 “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the all of creation.”

So ending this, I just want to remind you that while you may be battling with who you are, what you should be, or what you want to be, just remember that God knows. His timing of revealing this and His plan for your life may not be when you want, but He isn’t done with you yet.

Leave a Reply

