God Is NOT Scared

Biggest thing I learned this summer: God isn’t afraid to change our plans. My first week of mission work this summer, God had called me to do Master’s Commission (basically an Assemblies of God bible school) in El Salvador. This would require me to go to El Salvador with King’s Castle for a year, learn Spanish, go to bible school, and do mission work the whole year. It is a scary and intense program, but it is what God has called me to do. And if there is anything I want to do, it is run after God’s plan, no matter how scary it is. After all, His plan is best, right?

I went to Central America this summer with the plans of going home, going to college, study Spanish and International Studies there, maybe study abroad, THEN do mission work after. That is what God has called me to do, but I had always wanted to go to college. But that isn’t what God wants. I fought with God the whole summer, and tried to even “compromise” with Him.

I don’t know the timing, I don’t know how I’m going to get there, but I know I’m going to go. At first, I didn’t even want to go, but now there is no place I’d rather be. God is NOT scared to come in and intervene with our plans. I once heard somebody say, “The funniest joke you can tell God is the plan for your life.” Which is true. However, I also think that it’s okay to make plans. You can plan out your whole life, but you need to be willing and flexible to let God change these plans.

(Isaiah 55:8-9, “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,
declares the Lord.
As the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so are my ways higher than your ways
    and my thoughts than your thoughts.”)

I have to keep reminding myself to seek after God with my whole heart, and He will reveal His plans. (Jeremiah 29:13, Seek Me and you will find Me when you seek Me with all your heart).

Blessings!

-Meg

Leave a Reply

